Miscellaneous · Writing Snippets & Exercises

Reading Gideon – First Impressions

Welcome to the first post of my attempt to excite myself back into reading! Here I’m going to take you with me on this journey of entertainment. I will give my impressions of the book as I go along, leave quotes as I see fit, make comments on how I’m enjoying it–or not–and even make predictions about upcoming plot revelations.

Fun idea? I think so.

On a side note, don’t read these posts if you care about spoiling a potentially amazing story for yourself. I’ll be sure to make that the first thing I say each time and put it as the excerpt for the sake of new comers.

Gideon the Cutpurse

Picked this up at the thrift store. Never heard of it before, but the cover intrigued me. I paid about $2.39 for it, took it home, and promptly lost it during an absent-minded moment.

Mum who is amazing found it again, along with a very comfortable shirt I bought at the same time. But that is neither here nor there.

Here is what is there.

The Cover–

The copy I bought is hardcover, and though I usually prefer reading paperback, this volume called out to me from the shelf. The spine is a dark brown with antique gold designs that make it appear literary and tasteful. Part of the title is in a font that looks like handwriting on parchment. The word cutpurse is a huge part of what prompted me to pick it up.

The front has the title in two different fonts as well as a tagline of sorts in a third font. It sounds excessive, but I really think it works; making you wonder what kind of book it is from the start. What looks like yellow cobblestones or an oddly shaped tree is broken into with a gaping, jaggedy hole with a sketchy eye peering through, kind of like a kid’s popup book. You can poke the eye. I’ve done it several times. Nothing happens when you poke it, but it’s interesting that the cover opens up to reveal just a little bit more of the man’s face. Yes, it’s a man. Or else it’s a man-boy. Or a really ugly woman.

The synopsis on the back is framed with a round design, reminding me of old fashioned mirrors or portraits in a locket. I read the back before I had even let the title sink in, and I hadn’t seen the words beneath the title on the front.

Here is the synopsis with my own thoughts in parentheses:

1763. (Win.)
Gideon Seymour, cutpurse (love that word) and gentleman, (sounds good already) hides from the villainous Tar Man. (like blob men from Howl) Suddenly the sky peels away like fabric (does fabric peel?) and from the gaping hole fall two curious-looking children. (Aw, bummer. Children. *sigh*So no romance?) Peter Schock and Kate Dyer (ooo, different last names = hope for romance!) have fallen straight from the twenty-first century, thanks to an experiment with an antigravity machine. (Historical + Sci-fi? Yes. PLEASE.) Before Gideon and the children (define “children”) have a chance to gather their wits, the Tar Man takes off with the machine–(that was quick) and Kate and Peter’s only chance of getting home. Soon Gideon, Kate, and Peter are swept into a journey through eighteenth-century London (YAAAY LONDON, I WAS IN LONDON!!!) and form a bond (is it romantic?) that, they hope, will stand strong in the face of unfathomable treachery.
Historical detail comes alive (I love you) as debut author Linda Buckley-Archer (what’s my debut novel going to be? I wish my name was that cool… will people want my real name on books? I should come up with a variation of my name to sell books better)* weaves the eighteenth-century trials of Gideon, Kate and Peter with the modern-day worries of their parents and the wily investigator trying to piece together the children’s disappearance. A time-travel tale, the first book of the Gideon Trilogy introduces readers to a modern genre all its own.

*At that point I stopped. We were in a rush and I’d read enough to want be interested in more. Now that I’ve read the entire thing, I’m excited!

My Impression–

All in all, I give a solid 4 out of 5 stars for the cover. It made the book look interesting enough to make me risk a purchase. I can’t decide yet if I think the hole in the front is awesome or silly. But it was very affective in catching my eye, so excellence it is.

My Predictions–

There will be a Table of Contents somewhere after the Copyright and before the first chapter. I will find out how the chapters are broken up and whether or not they have titles. I think they’ll have titles. If so, somewhere in the contents the word escape will make an appearance.

I realized just a little bit ago that I’d skipped straight to the synopsis on the back and completely missed the part above it which reads:

Gideon The Cutpurse
Being the first part of the Gideon Trilogy

Great. What have I begun?

Stick around if you wish to find out.

~B~

7 thoughts on “Reading Gideon – First Impressions

  1. Haha! I love how this is just a review of the cover and the summary! Very creative; I wouldn’t be able to do that. I’d want to get right into reading it, because the cover is COOL.

  2. Trust me: this is a brilliant book, and the trilogy only gets better! I started reading them when I was eleven. I am now sixteen years old and they are STILL my favourite books. I know, I know. Slightly sad, but still. You won’t be disappointed.

    (And, there isn’t romance as such, but, I think, Peter DOES fall for Kate a little bit towards the end of the trilogy, but only in a crush sort of way… but you’ll have to make up your own mind about that! And it’s a shame there’s no romance, because Gideon deserves a lover after all he’s put through!)

    1. I really need to get back to reading it! I kind of put it aside for a while because I’m trying to keep up in writing and finish my library books before they’re all due. Since I own the first book I don’t feel as much pressure to read it. But for shame! I shall try to do better. I’m really excited to continue!

      *plugs ears* I mean… *covers eyes* DON’T TELL ME DON’T TELL ME!!! I need to have my theorizing and surprises!! I’m ignoring your whole paragraph in parenthesis. Not to be rude, but because I just…. I NEED to not know. ;) It’s part of the fun of making these posts.

  3. I got that exact same version of the book for a good four years now. Yet I got it for $1.08. I really did enjoy reading it. It is one of the few books that I’ve actually managed to complete reading. Yet I still have to get down to reading the other two books in the series.

Leave a Reply

