Convictions & Comforts · Miscellaneous · Uncategorized

Thems Be Words

Polonius: What do you read, my lord?
Hamlet: Words… words… words.

Words have reestablished themselves in my realm. I’m reading again! Not quite in a consistent pattern, but enough to give me a push. My lovely friend let me borrow Wilkie Collin’s The Moonstone months ago, and it’s been sitting at the bottom of my knitting/carry on bag until this afternoon. I loved The Woman in White and so far The Moonstone is proving to be just as involved and interesting. It also has me in stitches over the unintentionally comedic steward.

I made one resolution this year with an actual time limit. (Not a “be more blank” or “do more blank-ing”) I resolved to have a story finished. Not perfected, because that perfectionist attitude is always my roadblock to completion. No, this is finish a book in a year so you can fiddle with whatever… but at least it will be done goal. I’m terrified, but very excited.

In celebration of this wordiness, here’s a book survey quiz thing of fun.

[By the way, that paper man hug is one of my favorite random internet picture finds of all time.]

Content Theft Warning: I stole this from her who got it from this.

  1. Which [is the] book that’s been on your shelves the longest? Amy’s Eyes–I don’t remember a time when this book was not on my bookshelf, occupying the very left hand side of the second shelf from the top. The blue hardcover somehow kept me at bay for years, but when I finally read it–instant favorite.

  2. What is your current read, your last read and the book you’ll read next? I just started The Moonstone today and earlier in the week, Gideon the Cutpurse. The last book I read was far too long ago, and that was The Game by Diana Wynn Jones; authoress of Howl’s Moving Castle. Next up will hopefully be Sapphique, if it comes to my library soon.
  3. What book did everyone like and you hated? (Or the other way around?) I will never understand the appeal of the Twilight saga, nor why anyone not on crack would enjoy The Phantom of Manhattan. On the flip side, Susan Kay’s Phantom had flaming reviews against it on the book site I was frequenting at the time but I enjoyed it very much indeed.
  4. Which book do you keep telling yourself you’ll read, but you probably won’t? Nicholas Nickleby – Too much speculation/depression.
  5. Which book are you saving for “retirement?” I’ll reread all my favorites. Starting with a Robin McKinley marathon. Oh boy, I can’t wait to be retired!! From… my career… as a cashier. ;) (I really love my job a lot, for really reals.)
  6. Last page: read it first or wait til the end? I only skip ahead in fan fiction. Otherwise, I do my best to stay surprised.
  7. Acknowledgements: waste of ink and paper or interesting aside? The note to readers, author’s bio and acknowledgments are some of my favorite parts about a book!
  8. Which book character would you switch places with? Marguerite Blakeney from The Scarlet Pimpernel. I can see myself making the same kind of stupid, horrible mistake she did and trying just as desperately to make things right. And I love her husband. ;)
  9. Do you have a book that reminds you of something specific in your life (a person, a place, a time)? Is there a book that doesn’t? Sunshine makes me think of baking cinnamon rolls. Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince I associate with riding in the car to soccer games.
  10. Name a book you acquired in some interesting way. I… maaay have forgotten to give a couple books back to people. But I’m sure they’re not missed! At least not as much as I enjoy having them. :P
  11. Have you ever given away a book for a special reason to a special person? I made a book of songs for the very friend I’m borrowing The Moonstone from. I think it was a birthday present. I prettied it up like a scrapbook with lyrics and explanations of some of my favorite musical songs.
  12. Which book has been with you to the most places? Other than the obvious, which is The Bible (in my head and heart, if not always physically present) it would have to be The Society of S and The Phantom of the Opera. Both were in my purse for access during lunch breaks at work, and being in my purse they get around.
  13. Any “required reading” you hated in high school that wasn’t so bad ten years later? A History of European Civilization, or as we students liked to call it, “No, please, not The Red Book!!” And ten years later? I’ll retake this quiz when I’m 28.
  14. What is the strangest item you’ve ever found in a book? A husband. Okay, I have several of those… from books. Just sayin.
  15. Used or brand new? I love reading what’s new to me, but I don’t like owning brand new books. A little pre-wear means I don’t have to fear marring them with my love.
  16. Stephen King: Literary genius or opiate of the masses? I’ll let you know when I read something of his. ;P
  17. Have you ever seen a movie you liked better than the book? The only two that come to mind are The Count of Monte Cristo and Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Part 1).
  18. Conversely, which book should NEVER have been introduced to celluloid? Incarceron, for casting Taylor Lautner. I also hope no one touches any of Robin McKinley’s books because they are too wonderful in word to be toyed with visually. I don’t deny that someone could do it properly, but considering the Narnia movie flops and lack of accurate Phantom of the Operas I won’t believe it until I see it.
  19. Who is the person whose book advice you’ll always take? I’ll “take” anyone’s. Whether I’ll respect it or not is another thing entirely. I’m to curious to completely disregard the advice of any reader.
3 thoughts on “Thems Be Words

  1. How awesome is that? I was just thinking of doing a post on my convictions on books.
    If you haven’t already gathered, I’m stealing this.

Leave a Reply

