Convictions & Comforts · World Away From Word

9.11

This isn’t going to be a really deep or controversial post about the events of 9/11. Merely a brief and unpoetical description of my own perspective of that day and the days that followed. It’s nothing gran, but I felt it was important to observe the day.

On September 11th, 2001 I was woken from sleep by my dad’s voice shouting, “They did WHAT?” from his study. Bleary-eyed, I watched him run out into the hallway with the phone at his ear and I shuffled out after him.

I watched the news with my mouth ajar. I had no clue what the twin towers were until that night, but I knew what the pentagon was and I knew what hijacking and terrorism meant. It wasn’t difficult to understand the significance of what had happened. Not with all the smoke, the screaming, the replayed tape of the plane crashing into the building and the frantic mood seeping into the voices of even the reporters.

I remember President Bush’s speech that day and feeling the urgency of his words. I remember admiring his use of the phrase, “faceless coward” and asking us to thank the rescue workers and pray for the victims’ families. Before that day I thought the president was little more than a symbol of American democracy at work. After that day I saw him as much more.

I watched the ongoing reports for days afterward. I replayed the VHS we taped of the destruction; the crashes, the second tower falling, and all the horrors that followed.

When it comes to events such as this, I find it’s difficult for me to use eloquent speech and make appropriately emotional posts. The best I can do is pray for our nation and ask you to do the same. Pray that the memory of those events steels us for the proper security measures and drives our government to do the right thing. That rather than being overcome with apathy or fear, we uphold the very principles that this free nation was founded on; the faith and virtues that our attackers so viciously despise. Let’s not let them win by forgetting.

For some of us the devastation was over in a matter of days, maybe months. But for the people who lost loved ones, the struggle is never over. Pray for them as well.

I for one, intend not to forget.

-x-

If My people who are called by My name will humble themselves, and pray and seek My face, and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin and heal their land.

2 Chronicles 7:13

Why do the nations rage,
         And the people plot a vain thing?
 The kings of the earth set themselves,
         And the rulers take counsel together,
         Against the LORD and against His Anointed, saying,
  “Let us break Their bonds in pieces
         And cast away Their cords from us.”

  He who sits in the heavens shall laugh;
         The Lord shall hold them in derision.
  Then He shall speak to them in His wrath,
         And distress them in His deep displeasure:
  “Yet I have set My King
         On My holy hill of Zion.”

  “I will declare the decree:
         The LORD has said to Me,
         ‘You are My Son,
         Today I have begotten You.
  Ask of Me, and I will give You
         The nations for Your inheritance,
         And the ends of the earth for Your possession.
 You shall break them with a rod of iron;
         You shall dash them to pieces like a potter’s vessel.’”

  Now therefore, be wise, O kings;
         Be instructed, you judges of the earth.
  Serve the LORD with fear,
         And rejoice with trembling.
  Kiss the Son, lest Hebe angry,
         And you perish in the way,
         When His wrath is kindled but a little.
         Blessed are all those who put their trust in Him.

Psalm 2

7 thoughts on “9.11

  1. I don’t think I really knew what happened until that night, and we didn’t have TV, so I didn’t ever have a full understanding of what it all was until much later.

    I love the verses. They’re so perfect (not surprising!)

    1. There were a lot of things that I had no idea about until that day. I guess it was a wake up call to a lot of Americans. We tend to sit in our little bubbles and forget how much our history impacted the rest of the world.

      They were the two verses I could remember about nations. :)

  2. THANK YOU for quoting scripture (and extensively!). This is the most meaningful and well written post I’ve seen in a long while.
    Everyone seems to have 9/11 stories to share. I wish I did, but I can’t remember anything. Not anything at all.

    1. You mean by me or just in general? I know I usually write about goofy things or simple life moments that I hype up with sarcasm; that and movies, media…etc. But I was wondering if that was a hint that I should be serious more often. ;)

      I almost didn’t think my experience worth sharing just because it was so… well, I wasn’t affected the way I’m sure hundreds of other people were. I didn’t know anyone that was in danger at the time, but I do feel for fellow Americans and the victims of any such crimes. And I didn’t want the day to pass without a tribute. Small and humble as it is.

Leave a Reply

