Convictions & Comforts · Uncategorized

All about shoes! …or is it?

Blog Response To: Finding the Right Shoe

Read that post by my friend (it’s really quite good) and then come back here to read my response under the butterfly. I was going to post this as a single comment, but it kind of got carried away–as my comments tend to do.

}i{

Questions:

What if you think the shoe fits perfectly but you can’t afford it? Does that mean it’s not the right shoe after all, or do you wait until you can afford the shoe?

What if you’re missing out on a great pair of practical shoes because you’re saving for what you think are the perfect pair, but you know you’ll never deserve/afford them?

Or what if it’s not a matter of affordability, but maybe the salesman won’t let you try it on? Or what if he lets you try it on and it seems to fit just right, but after five minutes he shoves them up on a too-high shelf and says not another word about them? And maybe you rack your brains as to how you can get that shoe, and you plead and beg with the salesman to get it down for you, but he won’t, and when you finally find a ladder and have the guts to reach for it regardless of your fear of heights you realize the shoe itself is very unclear about its intentions. What then? Do you keep reaching for the shoe or get down from the ladder before you fall and break your neck?

How many pairs of shoes is one expected to try on (try on, not purchase) before finding the right fit?

How often do we try to get the shoe ourselves without asking the salesman for any help first and we end up hurting ourselves and damaging the shoe because we weren’t patient enough to wait for him to finish with another customer?

Which brings to mind another question. Why are all the good shoes either too expensive or sold out?

It’s a little bit different for a girl with old fashioned (anti-feminist) standards to be “shoe shopping.” We have to wait for the right shoe brand to find us. We can window shop and dream about the blessed day we find our perfect shoe, but ultimately the shoe gets to choose to edge its way off the shelf and into our awaiting hands. (Though I’m in no way denying the power of rejection.)

And people who have shoes should be more grateful that at least they’re not wandering around barefoot. Except… I rather enjoy being barefoot most times. :) That analogy went a’wandrin’!

And yeah; the salesman should definitely be consulted before purchase. Because the salesman hates returns.

Malachi 2:16

This rambling response is through.

G’night!

10 thoughts on “All about shoes! …or is it?

  1. I try to keep my shoes until they’re pretty much impossible to wear. Then I’m forced to find new ones. Oh old shoes, how I shall miss them.

    concordantly, I have never had any of the problems you have described for various obvious reasons.

    Also, hi! I’m writing a comment on your blog because “It’s so delightful!”

    1. I used to get a lot of shoes, but now there’s just my work ones and two others I alternate between. And work shoes don’t count because they were mandatory!

      :P I figured as much.

      “Delightfully classical!”

  2. “I was going to post this as a single comment, but it kind of got carried away–as my comments tend to do.”

    Hahahaha! Wow, THAT’S an understatement! ;P

    But seriously, I’m glad you posted this separate, because it’s a very good post. Unfortunately, I don’t have all the answers, but I do know this: trust in God. He will guide you to the right shoe, and the right shoe to you. You’ve just gotta have (wait for it)…

    Patience.

    x_x

    :P

    1. Oh, shoes… I think it’s important to not window-shop for a nicer pair, when you’ve got a perfectly good pair, even if they’re going to wear out eventually. In fact, I’m not sure how valid window-shopping is…it seems like coming very close to coveting. I guess I’d be of the opinion that we either try the shoes on and buy them or be content with the ones we have! But that is coming from a (Biblical) feminist. :)

      You and Tim have me obsessed with the shoe analogy now. Love both posts! Your questions about the shoes and how they’ll work are great…the questions can be more plaguing than the situation!

      1. “You and Tim have me obsessed with the shoe analogy now.”

        Muahahahahaha! :P

        “The questions can be more plaguing than the situation!”

        “Think of the solution, not the problem.” ;P

    2. Oh you shush! :P

      I didn’t expect you–or anyone–to have all the answers. It was more like a rambling food for thought post. :) But I appreciate that you do comment. And give good advice.

      Ugh. Patience.

      *sigh* x)

Leave a Reply

