Uncategorized · Writing Snippets & Exercises

30 Days of Writing: Day 8

Challenge #8: What’s your favorite genre to write? To read?

Allow me to answer the reading question with a list. This is the list of books I am currently reading. There are eight of them in all.

1. A Game of ThronesGeorge R. R. Martin (Fantasy)

2. Temple of the WindsTerry Goodkind (Fantasy)

3. Troll FellKatherine Langrish (YA/Fantasy)

4. Book of a Thousand DaysShannon Hale (YA/Princess Fiction*)

5. AureliaAnne Osterlund (YA/Princess Fiction)

6. Gideon the CutpurseLinda Buckley-Archer (YA/Historical Fiction/Fantasy)

7. The MoonstoneWilkie Collins (Classic/Mystery)

8. The Picture of Dorian GrayOscar Wilde (Classic/Supernatural)

*Yes, Princess stories get their own category.

Anyone see a pattern, here? You say, “fantasy,” I say, “give me the title.” :) Sci-fi and supernatural; really anything that goes beyond the mundane. I like trolls, and goblins, and fairies, and magic handlers, and missing princesses, and crazed scientists, and clones; enchantments, and kingdoms warring, experiments that turn into mutants, and impossible feats of chivalry. If there’s no supernatural draw, it best have Victorian or Colonial elements. A book that’s devoid of mechanical limbs or magic portals had better make up for it with grand balls and bustles, swooning ladies and pistol-wielding gentlemen.

I take the advice of Toni Morrison, whose books I have never read. ““If there’s a book that you want to read, but it hasn’t been written yet, then you must write it.” So I do. Not that there isn’t a vast number of wonderful fantasy and supernatural books already out there, (as evidenced by my list) but I do have specific characters whose stories need telling. And its the nature of their strange and enchanting worlds I find most satisfying to write.

It must be the fact that I’m describing something new. Working with a fantasy world means opening the eyes of others to a personal landscape. It means showing them what you see in a way that makes the extraordinary both familiar and captivating. Robin McKinley does this best.

Honourable mention must go to dystopian novels. I haven’t tried my hand at writing one yet, but by gum, I love to read them!

Featured Snippet

Groaning, for his bruises had stiffened during the night, Tobin unwrapped his wet cloak. The chain rattled as it slid off his shoulders. The pit was roughly circular, about eight feet across and twelve feet deep. The floor was littered with fallen debris.

The air, heavy with the scent of fresh rain and damp earth, woke a raging thirst. Several nearby rocks had puddles in the hollows. Tobin rose to go to the closest, but as soon as he stood waves of pain shot from his left ankle, and his vision darkened.

The Goblin Wood by Hilari Bell

I recall that this book was magical and made me want to write similar stories. I would read it again but for the workload I’ve placed upon myself. Perhaps after the England tour!

I should point out that I chose a snippet about the male character when the majority of the book focuses on the heroine, Makenna. It is also now a trilogy and I’ve not read but the first. *is heartbroken* So I really need to get on that.

Featured Image

The Goblin Wood

One of those special covers that captured the book’s contents properly and got me interested in reading it. I tried finding the artist to credit but have had no such luck.

~B~

P.S. Darn that Phil for making me hungry with his sushi pictures. *sniffles* I don’t even really like sushi.

4 thoughts on “30 Days of Writing: Day 8

  1. Wow, you read a lot of books at once! I always get distracted if I start a new book so I can only read two books at the most! I am jealous of your multitasking abilities! I’d like to hear how you like Aurelia. I read it right after it came out and I can’t remember much of it now, I don’t even remember anything about it. I also started Dorian Gray once but never got through it. Is it worth it?

    1. To be perfectly honest, I’ve been reading Gideon, The Moonstone, and Dorian Gray for ages as I only read a chapter or two every few months. I own them all so I don’t feel any pressure to finish them.The others are library loans and I deprive other holders if I take too long to read.

      I have another confession to make: I’ve already read Aurelia. :P It was one of those fun, princessy books that made me giggle so I decided to read it again. I mentioned it in my huge book review post (https://bethanish.wordpress.com/2011/01/11/2010-in-books-mega-post-of-ultra-special-ply/) and also here (http://www.shelfari.com/books/3974199/Aurelia/reviews/2037076).

      Oscar Wilde has upset me with his overuse of adverbs. But I’m not very far into the book, so I’m hoping the drama will eventually overshadow the awkward prose.

  2. I read Book of a Thousand Days! I liked it. Hope you’re enjoying it! And, yes, princess fiction is its own genre. Really, what else would you call those delightful royal treats?

    Ha ha, I forgot all about Gideon!

    I’ve heard good things about The Game of Thrones, but I’ve also heard that it’s not the cleanest, so I took it off my to-read list. Sigh. Why, why must these brilliant writers do this? Just because it’s adult fiction doesn’t mean you should stain its pages with unnecessary impurities that prevent people like me from reading!

    1. So far I really am! :) I agree. There’s nothing else to it! Princess fiction gets its own pedestal.

      Me too! Until I found it at the bottom of my beach bag! :P I should pick that up again… and read my old posts so I remember what the heck was going on. Hehehe.

      Yeah, it’s not even a little bit clean through most of the book. But it’s one of those that gives you a real sense of the danger and evil of the bad guys. I totally get what you’re saying, but I think the book wouldn’t work as well as it does without that extra… inappropriateness. It’s gritty and gnarly and medieval. Like medieval times!

Leave a Reply

