Convictions & Comforts · Miscellaneous · Uncategorized

What I Love About America

Oh beautiful for spacious guys

For Amber waives her grain

For purple mountain majesties 

Above the fruited plain!

America! America!

God shed His grace on thee

And crown thy good

With brotherhood

From sea to shining sea!

-x-

Sorry, guys. I know this one’s a downer. It was intended to be lighthearted humor and then morphed into bitter irony. Before anyone spazzes over this, I do love my country! (sometimes) I just hate the stupid things we do under the delusion of entitlement and the idea that there’s no comeuppance. Let me tell you, there will be comeuppance. I know about this stuff because I read books. (And write them, kind of.)

To atone for so much negativity tonight, I’ll probably follow up with a post about the things I really do love about America. Or BBC period dramas. Does that not count? *sigh* Fine.

3 thoughts on “What I Love About America

  1. Reason number seventeen bazillion why I wish I was British. Although Americans do have great food and dentists, which is more than Brits can say. *ehem* ;) But they definitely one-up us in the accent and overall suaveyness department…

  2. It’s so true and so sad. Although *cough* I did watch the Miss America pageant. In my defense, I was babysitting in a scary house and the whole time I was thinking, “This is completely stupid!…Miss Congeniality was way better.” :)

Leave a Reply

