Uncategorized · Writing Snippets & Exercises

30 Days of Writing: Day 11

11. Who is your favorite character to write? Least favorite?

Sometimes I wonder if these questions were invented by a writer. Some of them seem so absurd to me. Or maybe they were written by a non-writer who wanted to know how a writer-person thinks. But if they wrote a series of questions, that implies they’re a writer of some sort, for they wrote questions for writers to answer.

Now that I’ve thoroughly confused myself…

Again, how do I even answer these questions?

I’m almost positive I don’t have a least favourite character to write. There is a small sliver of doubt when I think of certain chapters… but even the villains can be disturbingly fun to write. They can be the most fun.

We’ve already established from a previous question that I love writing male characters. They’re so… not… female. :P

Torin is amazing. (King Torin, to ye peasantry!) He’s brash and thoughtless and sulky… come to think of it, I’m not a nice person for making Lira marry him. And yet I giggle with immense glee as I type those words. Teeheeheeheehee! xD

I haven’t written him in a while–which is a bad, bad thing–but Payne was always extremely enjoyable. He reminds me of Prince Zuko. Except I was writing him before I saw Prince Zuko, so the similarities surprised me.

Emma Browne. Oh, I loved writing her. So much so that I often toy with the thought of writing a new piece to continue where I left off. However, the words haven’t come as smoothly as before and I’m wondering if a sequel is simply not meant to be for Emma Browne. Perhaps she has no more to say to us.

If we step outside original works and talk about fan fiction, the entire cast of H2O are quite possibly the most fun ever, but especially Cleo and Lewis. Something about the accents. And the cheesiness of their story.

And most recently, Felicity Merriman as a six year old captive. That is some exceptionally fun writing. :D

Although I still can’t think of a least favourite character to write, there’s no doubt about which ones I struggle with the most. Any character in The Turnings. Many of them are based on people I know–myself included–and rather than finding it easier to write about what I know, I second guess every action, word, and thought. Would I really do that in such a situation? Is my Beta going to be insulted that I wrote her dialogue that way? Will readers think that was a selfish motive? Does it matter what they think if it’s more realistic?

Whoever said to write what you know never took real life and tried to turn it into a mock vampire novel. Because it’s not the best. It’s the hardest.

Featured Snippet

Within hours, everyone in town has heard about it. By afternoon the news has spread several towns over. Word of mouth is a more effective method of advertisement than typeset words and exclamation points on paper pamphlets or posters. It is impressive and unusual news, the sudden appearance of a mysterious circus. People marvel at the staggering height of the tallest tents. They stare at the clock that sits just inside the gates that no one can properly describe.

And the black sign painted in white letters that hangs upon the gates, the one that reads:

Opens at Nightfall
Closes at Dawn

The Night Circus
By Erin Morgenstern

I have three days (now it’s two) to finish this book before it goes back to the library, and I’m nearing the end. So far it’s been absolutely breathtaking. It’s just… it’s magical. That seems a cliche, but really, I can think of no better way to describe it. I hope it ends as well as its begun.

Featured Image

This was actually taken by my mother, per my request. On the way to work at 4:20 in the morning, I noticed the sky was this gorgeous dark blue and the moon and stars made it look like a book cover, and not at all like real life. It could be the after effects of reading The Night Circus that made it so special, but it was quite a sight.

6 thoughts on “30 Days of Writing: Day 11

      1. I can’t even believe this. I woke up this morning and wrote 700 words in my notebook for a short story because of this photo and your comment. :P I can’t make promises as to when you’ll see it, but anyway. It’s there.

  1. Yes, I’d wonder about the person thinking up the questions as well! “They are your characters! Your argument is irrelevant!” ;)
    Now I want to read The Night Circus! :) And that picture is so, so gorgeous! It looks like something created on a computer, not real life at all! :D

Leave a Reply

