Miscellaneous · Uncategorized

It’s an Epidemic!

I apologise for the absurd length of this post.

It’s funny how the blogging awards and tagging games spread like diseases. Fun diseases. The kind that get you off work or out of school with minimal discomfort and allow you to sit in bed and watch movies all day… okay I don’t know of any diseases like that. If I’m out of work, I’m usually not able to do anything but down liquids, take drugs, and sleep. :P

The Rules To This Epidemic

One must post 11 – yes, 11 – facts relevant to one’s self.
One must answer 11 questions chosen by the carrier.
One must choose 4 citizens to pass on the fundemic to.
One must choose 11 questions for the elected 4 to answer in their own post.

-x-

Of Me and Myself

1. I cannot watch the Felicity movie without bursting into giggles every time Ben is on screen. I also just published the first snippet of a Ben/Lissie fan fiction, which I will give linkage for if you are very, very persuasive. :P

2. I watched Love Never Dies on DVD last Friday. It was as bad as I thought. I liked a couple songs, but only out of context.

3. Two things I need to buy right now are packs of chewing gum for after lunch break breath, and an emery board for when my nails keep chipping. That happens a lot because, you know, I work very hard.

4. I’m stopping in the middle of this to go get cereal.

5. We only had Granola Raisin Bran left. Which is fiiiine, but would not have been my first pick.

6. Cocoa Pebbles would have been my first pick.

7. My coworker asked me to burn her a disc of the best Celtic Thunder songs. She ended up with three CDs of Celtic Thunder songs.

8. I only call my mum “mom” when I’m peeved at her or can’t get her attention. Then she’s “Mom, ma, mum, mumsie, maman, oomani, ooma, madre, mama, mooootheeeeer…” until she responds.

9. I typecast actresses I like, and call those I do not like by their real names. Example: “Why are they still hiring Kiera Knightley for movies?” “Oh! Elizabeth Bennet is in this Hallmark!” Male actors seem to be the exception. “Why can’t you date Liam Neeson’s daughter? Because she’s Taken.”

10. I want a husband who wears tricorns and breeches and spatterdashes. May I have one, please?

11. I just realized it’s technically Wednesday, now that it’s past 12 in the morning, so TO THE DREAMER UPDATE AT ONCE!!!!

-x-

Answering Marie‘s Questions

1) If you could dye your hair any color for a day, with no judgment from anyone else, what color would you pick?
Blonde. :P Just for a day. I would look something like this…

Oh wait… more like this…

2) If you got a tattoo what would it be? (Even if you would never normally get one!)
A rose or a… no, probably a rose. Because they’re pretty and the least provocative. Depending on where you put it, I guess. :P I’d go with shoulder, or the small of my back. 

3) Favorite quote?
One of them… “Three grand essentials to happiness in life are: something to do, something to love, and something to hope for.”

4) Worst book/movie you ever read/saw?
Worst book: The Phantom of Manhattan. Worst movie: The New World

5) If you could go back in time and change something what would it be? (It doesn’t have to involve you)
I would steal a man from the 18th or 19th century and change that I have to live my life without one.

6) What’s your most improbable dream/goal?
Marrying a man from the 18th/19th century. :P And books getting published. Because I never finish them.

7) What was the last book you read?
The Little Golden Book of Beauty and the Beast. And I’m currently reading Beauty by Robin McKinley, one of my all time favourites. Do I like Beauty and the Beast much? Yes. Yes I do.

8) Why did you start your blog?
To give myself a place to write random thoughts without pressuring myself to stick to a schedule or anything, and share with others who have similar amusements and tastes.

9) What’s your favorite newspaper comic?
Hmmm…. Get Fuzzy.  I love Bucky. Oh, but Dilbert, too!

10) Hipster or Celebrity?
Celebrity. Does Kate Middleton count as a celebrity? Because I pick her.

11) What rhymes with orange?
Porridge!

-x-

KristinaMara‘s Questions Answered Because I was Tagged Twice

1. What superhero would you be? Starfire! But not the comic version. She’s a little too… boobalicious for me to be. :P The Cartoon Network Starfire. I think it’s pretty clear that I could be her.


Yes, I am her. :D Also, my best friend is Raven, so it all makes sense.
2. What color are your favorite pair of socks? Black lace. They’re more like really short stockings that tie with a tiny ribbon in the back.
3. Polkadots or florals? Whyyy do you torment me with such a difficult choice?? *sigh* Since florals are harder to do right, and my favourite skirt (purchased in Southampton, England) is navy blue with polkadots, I choose polkadots. :) Plus, I’ve always wanted a 40’s bathing suit in polkadots.
4. If you could live in any book, which book would it be? Eurgsh! Another difficult choice!! I hesitate to list any favourite books. I fear entering them would change aspects of the world within and negate the reasons I like them so well. Perhaps a children’s book would be a wise choice. Except there has to be romance. :P No point if there’s no romance. This is so tough! I’ll go with a general thing and say a Disney book. Then I can be a princess and wear beautiful gowns and marry a prince! But wait… am I the heroine? What if I’m just an original side character? Then I’d want to be in Emma Browne or a Jane Austen, and marry someone I/she failed to marry off. Or if we’re talking outside the general story plot and delving into a world, I could go for any Robin McKinley novel. Her worlds are magical. :) That was a good question. But too hard for me to answer properly. :P
5. Where would you go right now if you could go anywhere? Between 1700’s Williamsburg for research, 1800’s England for a husband, or the kitchen because I’m hungry… I cannot decide.
6. What makes up a perfect day? A mixture of productive accomplishments, good food, and a lot of fun. And sweater/hot chocolate weather.
7. It’s raining. You are…? Most likely ringing up orders for soup in a bread bowl as quickly as I can manage. Though ideally, standing on a grassy incline in England, wearing a billowy cloak and getting pelted. But with the understanding that there’s somewhere nice to dry off afterward; somewhere with books and a fireplace and a cosy chair.
8. What’s one thing that always makes you happy? Making other people happy. A good song. A positive review.
9. Which super villain would you be, and why? Oooo. Dangit, Kristina! Such excellent and hard-to-answer questions! I must ponder this as I get a snack… I can’t think of any existing ones! I can’t imagine becoming a villain unless someone I loved was in danger, or killed, and I tried to save them or avenge their death but then got carried away and so consumed in grief and rage that I destroyed much more than a few people I blamed for said danger/death. That makes me think of Darth Vader, but is he a super villain? I’d love to have force powers. There we go. I’d be a fallen Jedi. But it would be because the Jedi forbid marriage and I’d be all, “Forget you, monkish geezers!” and run off with a star pilot and still do good around the galaxy, but not adhere to Jedi rules, so the council would condemn me as a villain, but I’d be perfectly happy with my do-gooder star pilot husband and force persuade powers. [You want to bake me a fresh pastry. You want to give it to me for free.]
10. What is your favorite thing about you? I like that I like a lot of things so I find enjoyment in many simple pleasures and I adapt well.
11. Do you have a signature item? That makes me think of our signature sandwiches at Panera. :P Recently, I’ve started to wear flower ties in my hair for work because I got sick of my hat making me look boyish. My coworkers worry now when I forget to wear one.

-x-

Spreading The Fun Bug

1. Le Timlet – Are you really surprised? =P Come on, man. Do this thing.

2. Elana of Cartoons & Creative Writing – Not sure if she’s been tagged yet, but I’d love to see how her creative mind answers these questions I picked. =D

3. Kristina from Eccentric Owl – I’m aware that she’s been tagged at least twice before, but I just wanted to show how crazy popular she is by tagging her again. Also, I want her to answer my questions. :P *pokes comment box*

4. Girl on the Contrary – She’s getting married, so who knows if she’ll have time to do a silly tag-post right away. But since I find her posts uproariously hilarious and surprisingly touching, I figured it doesn’t hurt to dream. ;)

-x-

Interrogation Time
In case this is unclear, (because it confused me at first) this is the part where those of you I tagged have to copy these questions and answer them in your posts. :)

1. What is your favourite animated sequel? (Disney or other)

2. Hardcover or paperback?

3. If you had a writer’s pseudonym, what would it be? (If you have one, what is it?)

4. Name one thing you’re obsessed with that most people don’t understand.

5. If you were famous, how would you use your fame? (Awareness for a cause you believe in, getting free things, meeting other famous people…?)

6. If God said He would grant you one request, what would you ask for?

7. Imagine you’re standing in front of a door, hand raised to knock. Where does the door lead and who is on the other side?

8. Between a thriving vegetable garden or a flourishing flower garden, which would you choose?

9. How do you define a large family?

10. Someone gives you an aquarium and asks you to fill it. Money is no issue and the sky’s the limit. What do you put inside?

11. Would you rather inherit an old fashioned fixer-upper, or a super modern mansion?

9 thoughts on “It’s an Epidemic!

  1. Ahahaha! Oh, your answers to my super-villain and book questions cracked me up! The book one, I basically meant not as a main character, but as an original side character OR just living in the world of that book. But for some reason I couldn’t figure out how to say it. Also, Darth Vader totally counts as a super villain. Just because your answer was so hilarious.
    Ooh, ALSO! I have decided you look like River Tam from Firefly.

    I’m gonna answer your questions in the comment box. Hehe.

    1. What is your favourite animated sequel? (Disney or other) Ummm… well, seeing as how I’ve only ever watched Madagascar 2 and Cars 2… oh! Toy Story the second. Probably the only actually good animated sequel I’ve watched. I don’t watch a lot of animated sequels…

    2. Hardcover or paperback? Hardcover! Paperbacks may be easier to hold when reading, but hardcover books last longer and usually have better covers.

    3. If you had a writer’s pseudonym, what would it be? (If you have one, what is it?) Well, I did have one and I’ll probably still use it: Mara Bjornsson. :D Who knows. Maybe once I’m married I’ll use my married name… or maybe I’ll just stick with Mara.

    4. Name one thing you’re obsessed with that most people don’t understand. Ummm… my… boyfriend? No, people understand that. Except his sisters. You ask such difficult questions! Gormenghast, the movie. Most people probably haven’t even seen it, but also most people would think it was very odd. (You should watch it)

    5. If you were famous, how would you use your fame? (Awareness for a cause you believe in, getting free things, meeting other famous people…?) To be honest, I’m not incredibly cause-oriented… which is probably a terrible thing to say… so I’d most likely use the fame to help out my family (aka get my parents an awesome house, etc) and then see the world. Assuming my fame brought me money.

    6. If God said He would grant you one request, what would you ask for? I… don’t… world peace? Haha! Or to save everyone in the world so that nobody has to experience hell.

    7. Imagine you’re standing in front of a door, hand raised to knock. Where does the door lead and who is on the other side? In my fantasy, I am a Jane Eyre-ish character, raising my hand to knock on the forbidding and imposing door of Mr. Rochester (who, of course, is really Mr. Owl), and the door leads into the grand and dismal foyer, from which you can barely see Rochester/Mr. Owl brooding in the parlor before a blazing fire.

    8. Between a thriving vegetable garden or a flourishing flower garden, which would you choose? Flourishing flower garden! Cuz we already know I probably am not tasty.

    9. How do you define a large family? Like 15 kids. OR lots and lots of relatives. Depending on if you meant a mom-dad-kids family, or including aunts and cousins and crazy hermit uncles. Because I have a large family, but immediate family… there’s only six of us. Parents included.

    10. Someone gives you an aquarium and asks you to fill it. Money is no issue and the sky’s the limit. What do you put inside? I make it into a terrarium filled with moss and miniature Alice in Wonderland figures and tiny flowers and bonsai trees. And pretty glass. And maybe a teacup.

    11. Would you rather inherit an old fashioned fixer-upper, or a super modern mansion? Old-fashioned fixer-upper, definitely. I don’t like modern houses, and it’s really fun to remodel/fix up old houses! Plus, you never know what you might find in an old house’s walls or attic or cellar.

    1. YAAAAYYY!! So excited to read all these! :D :D :D

      Okay, so looking at it that way, I’d live in either a Jane Austen or Robin McKinley book. Or The Scarlet Pimpernel. Or The Night Circus. Or the Inkheart books. Gah!! I’m sorry, I can’t pick! May I world-hop? Like the Doctor, but in books? :D

      YES!! Then I’m Darth Vader. :P I hated Anakin Skywalker, but I strangely understood his initial reasoning for his eventual downfall. I can’t think of a villain that makes more sense than him. :P

      Hehehe!! River Tam is actually the character I get compared to more than any other! Between her and Erin from The Office. But I prefer to be compared to River. :)

      Toy Story 2 is probably my favourite sequel, too. I was going to think of all the Barbie movies I’ve seen… but the only ones that have sequels were the Fairytopia, and those weren’t that great…why am I still talking about Barbie movies? :P

      Putting Gormenghast on the list of movies to watch! (Did I spell it right??)

      I love your answers for 5, 6, and 7!!! HEHEHE!!! :D My answer would be something similar to yours for 7, except I don’t have a Mr. Owl to add to the fantasy. ;)

      9 is almost exactly what I would have said. :) And oh my goodness, I LOVE your answer for 10!!! Now I want that to happen so you can post pictures! Hehehe! Also, agreed 100% with 11. There ya go. We’re kindred spirits. I knew it! :D

  2. Arrrrrrgh! Okay, I’ll participate in your epidemic (that sounds a little… off :P)! I’ve been feeling like doing a vlog again, so I might just use it for that… or I’ll just type everything… when I get to it… ;)
    Ah! I’m very fond of Emma Browne as well! It’s probably one of the best stories I’ve yet read on the internet! :D

    1. Haha, that’s kind of why I did it that way. To sound “off.” :P It makes me giggle.
      Vlog, blog, however you like! And whenever you like; there’s no pressure. :)
      EEEP!! I know Emma Browne is one of–if not THE–best I’ve done, and I love it to pieces, but it still surprises me in the most pleasant of ways when someone else professes such fondness for it, as well. :D

  3. “Between 1700’s Williamsburg for research, 1800’s England for a husband, or the kitchen because I’m hungry… I cannot decide.” Granola Raisin Bran didn’t fill you up? ;)

    1. Weeelll… I did this in two sittings, so the first set of questions I answered one night, and the next or a couple nights later I did the rest. :P
      Although Granola Raisin Bran does not usually fill me up for long…
      I wondered if anyone was going to notice that! Count on Avra! ;)

  4. WHY DID YOU NOT TELL ME YOU TAGGED ME IN THIS??!?!?!?!?! Bags, woman!

    But, after reading all of this, I can safely say we’re twins, as I knew you were going to saw Darth Vader, Emma Browne, and Starfire. Plus, I noticed you were hungry after eating a granola bar. Fat face. xP

    1. Because I make posts and then get busy!!
      You’re texting me. So we can continue this conversation… not here. Because I’m too lazy to type AND talk. :P

      This was filled out two different days. Although there’s nothing wrong with eating both!

Leave a Reply

