Uncategorized

30 Days of Writing: 13-20

30 Days of Writing

Hello, all! Iiiiiii am cheating! I’m now clumping a bunch of these together, and not making huge, all-out posts about them. Because I will finish this challenge! And I have to in order to start my book challenge, which I am very excited about!

Challenge #13: What’s your favorite culture to write, fictional or not?

Victorian England. The language, the dress, the customs, the men… And I love time travel ones. Because I like the thought that it’s totally possible for me to get a Victorian man. :)

Challenge #14: How do you map out locations, if needed? Do you have any to show us?

*snickers* Very badly. I have tried drawing maps, but I’m terrible at it. I do have a Paint-drawn map from one of my first stories! Let’s dig this guy out…

I used to be rather proud of this, you know. :P
I used to be rather proud of this, you know. :P

Challenge #15: Midway question! Tell us about a writer you admire, whether professional or not!

First, allow me to celebrate finally getting halfway there with this challenge!!!

Party On GIF

Robin McKinley. If she wrote it, I will read it. Because she is the Queen of Words and I love all her books.

I also love my Beta’s writing. For she writes lovely things that make me happy, and dreadful things to push me to write more.

Challenge #16: Do you write romantic relationships? How do you do with those, and how “far” are you willing to go in your writing?

Hah.. hah… HAHAHAHAHAHAH!! I have maybe… one? story that did not turn out to have a romantic relationship. It’s not my favourite. :P And I’ll go far. Far enough. If they’re married, they have my permission to do it. BECAUSE I WANT BABIES!! And I don’t usually find it too difficult to do the whole… vague, but clear thing. As long as it furthers the plot. WITH BABIES!!!

Challenge #17: Favorite protagonist and why!

If we count fan fictions, Kuru from Elephant Princess, and Benjamin Davidson from the Felicity stories I wrote. I love, love, love writing them, because they’re so principled and sweet and rather perfect, and it’s refreshing to write about characters who are a rarity in real life.

If I have to stick to an original character, I’m going with Dr. Jack Lynsford of The Baffling Case of Miss Emma Browne. Because he’s a dreamy Victorian doctor who doesn’t know he’s dreamy.

Challenge #18: Favorite antagonist and why!

I… hate to say it, but I co-wrote an absolutely despicable and loathsome creature into existence that I can’t even manage to kill off, he’s so interesting and… different.

Challenge #19: Favorite minor that decided to shove himself into the spotlight and why!

I don’t think I have any minor characters that stole the spotlight. Either there are several stories going at once, and I try to switch perspectives as often as possible without making heads spin, or I have one main couple and the rest just pop up to help them be more prominent. Unless we count the above mentioned antagonist, but he was never a minor.

Or are we talking about minors as in age? Because I frequently make my girls underage and marry them off. I do not apologise. That was normal in the time periods I love most to write in!

Challenge #20: What are your favorite character interactions to write?

Dialogue!!! So. Much. Wordage. I especially like comfort scenes. I enjoy putting my characters through horrible things so that other characters can comfort them sweetly. So I like hugging scenes, coupled with loving words. :)

Featured Snippet

“The Pavilion did not burn by lightening,” she said.

He hesitated again. “It holds the memory of fire,” he said at last. “Lightening is young and strong and thoughtless, but it could also wish to visit the site of some particular victory of one of its kind–as a young soldier recently commissioned might visit the scene of some great battle–”

Chalice
by Robin McKinley

Featured Image

I had to do both, because… you’ll see.

truthbooks and tea

 

5 thoughts on “30 Days of Writing: 13-20

  1. What’s this I hear about a book challenge?! *is all ears* *bobs excitedly, ears fly everywhere*
    I sometimes have minor characters who try to steal the story. They then often get killed for their trouble. Writers are such violent people! :P
    I like your new theme, by the way! :)

    1. Yes!! It’s the one I stole from you, I think! :D
      Hehehe! Oh, dear. :P Yeah, none of mine have pulled that, yet. Or I’d probably write them out of the story. “So and so ended up stranded on an island… FOR TRYING TO STEAL THE SPOTLIGHT!” :P Hehehe.
      Thanks!! I like the simple ones that let me focus on the words in the blog… but I do love pink, as well. So this seemed rather perfect. :)

Leave a Reply

