Convictions & Comforts · Cooking · Uncategorized

A thought for a Sunday…

If no one ever bought out on Sundays, food service industries wouldn’t make enough in sales to keep their doors open.

No employees would feel pressured to work on the Lord’s Day, because restaurants, cafes, bistros, and other food businesses wouldn’t be open.

Hard working Christians wouldn’t have an excuse not to go to church like, “They need me to work on Sunday. Those burgers really need to be flipped, man.” Honestly, no one needs me to work on Sunday. I work in the food industry. I’m not saving lives, or committing great acts of mercy or ministry. It would be different for a person in the military or any emergency services. God gave us six whole days to get our work done to support our families. He’s only asking one to entirely devote to Him.

That’s why, from now on, I’m putting myself in charge of Sunday dinners for our family. I’m buying easy-to-make food on the weekend, and putting it together Sunday nights instead of eating out.

This is a decision based on my own conscience. I’ve started to feel like a hypocrite, repeating to every new associate and manager that I never work on Sundays because I believe it’s the Lord’s holy day of rest, and then buying fast food after evening church, which basically compels other people to be working on Sundays. That doesn’t feel right to me. I know we’re just one family, but doing administrative work for my cafe (predominately labour and sales charts) has taught me that a single $40 transaction (which is about what we spend for our whole family to eat each Sunday night) buys at least an hour of labour. That’s an entire hour I’m supporting one of my coworkers to be on the clock, doing a job I don’t believe in doing on that day.

My cafe is starting to struggle with filling our Sunday schedules, and since I refuse to work then, and I refuse to encourage others to do so, I’m helping in the only way I can. I’m not buying out. Not at Panera, not Panda, not Taco Bell, not Subway, not Carl’s Jr. I’m even going to rethink my “emergency” Walmart and grocery store stops on the way to or from church and evaluate what truly qualifies as an emergency.

Fast food is not.

Crosses and sunset

-x-

Then he said to them, “This is what the Lord has said: ‘Tomorrow is a Sabbath rest, a holy Sabbath to the Lord. Bake what you will bake today, and boil what you will boil; and lay up for yourselves all that remains, to be kept until morning.’” So they laid it up till morning, as Moses commanded; and it did not stink, nor were there any worms in it. Then Moses said, “Eat that today, for today is a Sabbath to the Lord; today you will not find it in the field. Six days you shall gather it, but on the seventh day, the Sabbath, there will be none.”

Now it happened that some of the people went out on the seventh day to gather [mana] but they found none. And the Lord said to Moses, “How long do you refuse to keep My commandments and My laws? See! For the Lord has given you the Sabbath; therefore He gives you on the sixth day bread for two days. Let every man remain in his place; let no man go out of his place on the seventh day.”

So the people rested on the seventh day.

Exodus 16:21-30

2 thoughts on “A thought for a Sunday…

  1. Here comes one of my special, extra-long comments! :)
    I can’t say I’ve ever really thought about this. On the other hand, we hardly ever eat out and get take out even less. It has happened on Sundays before, though. I remember the days when nothing was open on Sundays, except for the cafe at the petrol station. Now everything is open and I actually get annoyed when it is not. That is horrible. :/
    Horrible Christian I may be, but it still bothers me when I have to work all Sunday. That’s unfortunately the thing with university: research papers take 7 days of 16 hours each to finish. I would prefer to do just prescribed reading and stuff on Sundays if I can, which is what I did today, well except for watching Game of Thrones (if I wanted to watch something religious, I couldn’t have made a worse choice :P ) and blog commenting.
    Something else I learned at university is that you can hold sabbath on any day of the week, your off day or whatever, it doesn’t have to be on Sunday. It is your seventh day that you keep holy for God and if that’s Thursday, I don’t see anything wrong with that.

    1. Hurray! :D

      Yeah, I never thought much of it, especially since it just made things easier on mum. And for a while I just thought, “The point is that we work less (or not at all) on Sunday, so that would be BETTER to eat out…” but then I started working, and having to explain these things to coworkers and other managers, and it felt really hypocritical to go out and eat while THEY had to work because I wouldn’t.

      So far I’ve had two Sundays (two? sounds right) since making this decision, and we had Chinese food (made from things purchased on Saturday afternoon) and really delicious deli sandwiches. And so far, so good! :)

Leave a Reply

