Uncategorized · Writing Snippets & Exercises

30 Days of Writing: 26-29

30 Days of Writing

Challenge #26: Let’s talk art! Do you draw your characters? Do others draw them? Pick one of your OCs and post your favorite picture of him!

I don’t draw that well. So instead of a grand portrait of an OC which does not exist,  you may have a glorious comic I drew for mine best friend of Jareth and His Noodle Legs.

Labyrinth AwesomeNot gonna lie. I’m pretty proud of that labyrinth.

Challenge #27: Along similar lines, do appearances play a big role in your stories? Tell us about some characters whose appearances are deceiving at first.

“Appearances” are what stories are all about, right? Perception, anyway. If you’re not writing it well, you’re not conveying the idea properly to the reader.

Currently, I’m working on a retelling of Little Red Riding Hood, because all the others I know of are terrible. I have a few characters whose appearances are–if not deceptive–certainly mysterious.

Challenge #28: Have you ever written a character with physical or mental disabilities? Describe them, and if there’s nothing major to speak of, tell us a few smaller ones.

I gave Lissie a limp, and I don’t want to talk about it because it’s so sad, and dreadful, and… *runs away sobbing*

Challenge #29: If you had the chance for one of your stories to be made into a movie, would you accept the opportunity? Which story would it be?

This is actually a good question! Hmmm… Obviously I’d pick the fan fiction, because those are making perfect what the screenwriters failed in. : P But as for an original story… I am very fond of period films and time travel. I think Emma Browne would make a good movie. So would Beauty and Payne, if I ever finished it. I totally see that being a cheesy Hallmark-meets-Sci-fi-channel movie. Heeheehee.

I’m not sure if Red would make a good movie. I think I’m having too much fun giving the wrong impression on purpose. And in movies, stuff gets explained at first glance. For example: you’d know right away which prince waves at the beginning. And the question of which one? sort of feeds the whole plot.

Featured Snippet

She lies on her back on the bed, looking up at the constellations of stars that Grandad stuck on the ceiling for her when she was very small–and because she has been awake since five o’clock in the morning by American time, she falls asleep. Nobody wakes her up. They slip off her shoes and pull a quilt over her, and leave her there, sleeping in England.

VictorySusan Cooper

*sigh* I wish to be sleeping in England.

Five months and some days, and I shall!! :D I think another life update is in order. I do have quite a few things to announce. However, that’s not for this post.

P.S. Only the wrap-up challenge post is left!!

3 thoughts on “30 Days of Writing: 26-29

    1. I know! I know! I AM a slave to my writing mistress, and that is not one she is currently pushing me to write. But there is always hope! Right now, I’m finishing a story I started years ago, and I can’t believe it’s finally happening!

      So I’m sure Beauty and Payne won’t be an open-ender forever! I’m awfully sorry it’s been so long, though.

Leave a Reply

