Convictions & Comforts · World Away From Word

George, July, and Other Relevant Musings

I’ve already made my rantings on Facebook today, so I guess it’s time for the blog update!

This was my status after making several cynical comments on others’ Fourth of July posts:

I suppose I should make it clear to all that I DO love America. Or rather… I love America: Original and Best. Might also be known as Classic America, and the principles and faith that built our nation. What I am not fond of is what it’s become, and people celebrating a period in history they don’t even understand. Why we’re cheering about our independence from a Christian king (who was actually a very good king, all things considered) when we put ourselves into slavery under a government 100 times more tyrannical and deceptive, I don’t understand. I’m not saying the Revolution was a mistake. We had legitimate reasons to fight for our rights. I just think if you voted for our current dictator…Imeanpresident, you shouldn’t be allowed to celebrate Independence Day. That’s kind of like when atheists celebrate Christmas.

And this is what I’m talking about:

A Profile on King George III

Bear in mind, I don’t agree with the entire tone of this article, because to compare the American Revolution to the bloody French one is another common mistake people make when they don’t understand the religious (or anti-religious) convictions behind each one and the vast difference between the execution of those differing beliefs. However, I think this is truly eye-opening to those who have a skewed image of good King George III.

Now, having gone over that, I don’t want anyone to be under the false impression that I don’t love my country. I just want it back. Back to when we had a cause and that cause was one of justice, and liberty, and Biblical convictions, and political sermons were commonplace, because people understood that a nation can only thrive as a nation that serves the Lord. Back to believing that freedom is worth fighting for, and the dictates of one man cannot supersede the laws of God. Back to when the good guys carried guns, and the bad guys were afraid of them. Back to when preserving the life of a child made you a hero, and not a close-minded woman-hater. Back to when presidents prayed for their country and did their utmost to follow the Ten Commandments. Back when universities placed Biblical truths as the best foundation for a proper education. Back when being a woman meant embracing your God-given gifts, and not defying them under the banner of “equality.” Back when men were held accountable for their actions, and working hard to provide was seen as a privilege as much as a duty. Back to when our government looked out for the interests of its citizens, punished thievery and deception rather than rewarding it, didn’t negotiate with terrorists, and made us proud to be part of a powerful world influence.

I want that country back, because I want to be proud of America.

I also want to move to a cottage in the English countryside, but I’d like to be proud of my birth country, too. :)

Allies

Blessed is the nation whose God is the Lord, The people He has chosen as His own inheritance.
Psalm 33:12

Arise, O God, judge the earth; For You shall inherit all nations.
Psalm 82:8

God reigns over the nations; God sits on His holy throne.
Psalm 47:8

2 thoughts on “George, July, and Other Relevant Musings

Leave a Reply

